2020 Kandler Celebration: Honoring 100 Years of the ACLU

October 14, 2020 @ 7:00 pm

ACLU of Delaware Presents

Kandler Awards Celebration

Honoring 100 Years of the ACLU

This year has been challenging, but we still have a lot to celebrate, and we want to celebrate in style with you -- at a distance, of course.

Please join us at our first-ever completely virtual Kandler Awards Celebration on Wednesday, October 14 at 7 p.m. via Zoom. Dancing, dining, and honoring our Kandler Award recipients will all still take place—just from the safety of your own home.

Guests of the virtual 2020 Kandler Awards Celebration will have acess to our online silent auction and a private Zoom event that will feature live music by Jea Street Jr. (dancing encouraged), opportunities to learn more about and engage with our work, and a “Celebrate in Comfort” party package delivered right to your door*!

This event will be VIRTUAL and require access to the internet by phone, computer, or tablet to attend. You will receive access to the event via the email you registered with the week of the event.

*Please order your tickets by October 1 in order to guarantee delivery of the Celebrate in Comfort package in time for our event. We can not guarantee on-time delivery for tickets ordered after October 1.

This year, we will be honoring two incredible Delawareans who have left an indelible mark on civil liberties in our state:

  • Eugene R. Young, Jr., President & CEO of the Metropolitan Wilmington Urban League, has dedicated his career to lifting up underserved youth and supporting grassroots social justice movements. Read his full bio below.
  • Susan Del Pesco, Superior Court Judge and Advocate, has dedicated over 20 years to fighting for justice in the First State. Read her full bio below.

Thank You to Our Sponsors

    Video & Photography Sponsor:

    • Betsy McGeever

    Advocate Sponsors:

    • Norm Monhait
    • Tom & Jennifer O'Brien
    • WSFS Bank

    Champion Sponsors:

    • Mike & Katie Brickner
    • Tom Foley
    • Ruth Gerr
    • Ariel Gruswitz
    • Joan Kandler
    • Marty & Lisa Messner
    • Leland & Melva Ware
    • Claire & Mikki Snyder-Hall