On October 17, nearly 200 supporters of the ACLU of Delaware attended the 2012 Kandler Memorial Awards Dinner held at the Chase Center on the Riverfront in Wilmington.

Guests visited with friends, colleagues, ACLU staff and other like-minded individuals, and bid on a selection of silent auction items during the reception. Senators Chris Coons and Tom Carper and Wilmington Mayor-elect Williams stopped in during the reception to say hello and congratulate the award winners.

The evening's program included a moving video about the ACLU's history and the presentation of awards to six remarkable individuals. The Clarence Darrow Award for cooperating attorneys was presented to John Shaw, Pilar Kraman and David Fry for their work on a prison rape case that resulted in an extensive settlement agreement requiring significant changes to sexual assault policies and procedures within the Department of Corrections.

The event's namesake award, the Kandler Award, was then presented to Drew Fennell, Lisa Goodman and Sally Milbury-Steen for their tireless efforts to safeguard the civil rights and liberties of all citizens in Delaware. Before each Kandler honoree received her award, a slideshow played to help illustrate her incredible accomplishments.

Thank you to all of our generous sponsors, our event committee and everyone who participated in this year's event!

Liberty Circle Sponsors 
Joan & Joseph Rosenthal

Barclay’s Bank Delaware 
Carper for Delaware 
Elizabeth McGeever 
Grace & Bob Messner 
Norman Monhait & Marcia Halperin 
Seitz Ross Aronstam & Moritz LLP Shaw Keller LLP 
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP 
Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP