Amicus Society

Become a member

About the Amicus Society

It was 1961 when the ACLU of Delaware (ACLU-DE), the local affiliate of the national ACLU, was founded. We are a first resort when the government threatens our rights and a last hope when we are deprived of our liberties. To advance civil liberties in our great state, we depend on the support of our community including the members of our Amicus Society.

Membership in the Amicus Society brings you into a network of First State lawyers who are committed to defending our civil rights and civil liberties. Becoming a member of the Amicus Society allows us to continue to provide free legal assistance to any Delawarean whose civil liberties are under threat and, through membership, also supports public-education campaigns related to the law, the justice system, or both.

Participation Levels

Charter Memberships

  • Platinum (25,000+)
  • Gold (10,000-24,999)
  • Silver (5,000-9,999)

Charter members retain charter status in our publications in perpetuity, although we encourage members to renew annually.

Renewing Memberships

  • Sustaining Member (2,500)
  • Member (1,000)

Lawyers who have been a member of the bar for eight years or less or who are full-time public interest lawyers may participate at $250 annually.

We are proud to introduce the inclusion of free CLEs to all Amicus Society members. We plan to hold at least five courses across the span of each calendar year. At the average cost of $100/credit, member attendees of all five courses will receive CLE credits in the value of $500. For those joining as new members of the bar, or public interest lawyers, this is double the value of your membership.

In recent years, the Amicus Society has received exclusive access to cases such as LWV Delaware v. Dept. of Elections, Wright v. City of Wilmington, Smack v. Debalso, and the most recently settled Delawareans for Educational Opportunity v. Carney, filed originally in 2018 . Each of these cases shed light on critical inequities, and paved the way for lasting change in the First State.

We have been making history here in Delaware, protecting and preserving civil liberties for all Delawareans. Help us to keep upholding the civil liberties of all people—join the ACLU of Delaware’s Amicus Society.

Membership Benefits

Amicus Society Membership Benefits






Amicus Society Charter Members

Rebecca L. Byrd
Elizabeth M. McGeever
Norman M. Monhait
Pepper Hamilton, LLP
Mark Purpura
Ross Aronstam & Moritz, LLP
Suzanne Seubert
The Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation
Christine & William Sudell
Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP

Amicus Society Members

Santino Ceccotti
Mitchell Crane
Thomas Crowley
Alice Eakin
Drew Fennell
Thomas Foley
Alan E. Garfield
Jeffrey S. Goddess
Ryan Greecher
Lawrence A. Hamermesh
Karen Jacobs
Kathryn Jakabcin
Kathi Karsnitz
Karen Lantz
Lisa & Martin Lessner
David & Sally McBride
Carolyn McNeice
Bruce Morrissey
Kevin O’Brien
Brendan O’Neill
B. Wilson Redfearn
Lauren E. M. Russell
R. Jason Russell
Beth Savitz
Carl Schnee (in memoriam)
Amy Simmerman
Bradley D. Sorrels
Leland Ware
Christian Wright
Richard Zappa
Robert Young (in memoriam)

How To Join

Become a member

For more information about the Amicus Society, please contact Melissa Bryson, development director, at (302) 654-5326, ext. 102, or via email at